Home  »  Car Racing  »  Features  »  Gallery

Westfalen Trophy 2022 at the Nürburgring

Submitted by on December 9, 2022

By Marcel Hundscheid / Speed-O-Graphica

The Westfalen Trophy was held at the Nürburgring during the weekend of Saturday 15 and Sunday 16 October. The races on Saturday and Sunday concluded the season for series like the Tourenwagen Legenden and the AvD Historic Race Cup. A range of racing classes made their appearance, with Motorsport Retro concentrating in particular on the presence of the Tourenwagen Legenden.

The largest grid of the weekend came from the historic monopostos of the AvD Historic Race Cup, part of the Historic Racecar Association. Thirty six single-seaters appeared at the start of a gray and damp Nürburgring for the first race on Sunday morning. It was a colorful mix of Formula 3, Opel Lotus and Formula Ford cars.

During the opening stages of the first race, the battle for the lead was between Stefan Krämer in a Reynard SF83 and Stephane Lechine in a Reynard F389. However, the Frenchman soon took the lead and crossed the finish line first after eight laps. Marvin Brandl followed more than 5 seconds behind in an Opel Lotus Mk.II. The podium was completed by David Schneider in an Opel Lotus Mk. II.

In the Tourenwagen Legenden, former DTM cars are welcome between 1984 and 2009. The field is supplemented with touring cars from the former STW championship between 1993 and 2000, Group A touring cars from 1984-1996, Group H touring cars from the period between 1984 and 1996 and finally Group N cars between 1984 and 1988.

The Super Tourenwagen Cup, abbreviated STW, was a touring car championship held between 1994 and 1999 in Germany. When both BMW and Audi decided to leave the Deutsche Tourenwagen Meisterschaft (DTM) in 1992, the STW was established. The reason for the marques’ departure was the adoption of the more expensive Class 1 touring cars. When the STW championship ended in 2000, the Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters revived.

Thorsten Stadler dominated the first race on Saturday in his AMG Mercedes C-Klasse ITC. Former DTM star Roland Asch couldn’t match Stadler’s speed and finished second in a Mercedes 190 E 2.5-16 Evo I. Jean-Pierre Zimmer completed the top three in the same car and managed to finish before former DTM-aces Klaus Ludwig and Kurt Thiim.

The second race on Sunday was won by Sebastian Asch in an AMG Mercedes C-Klasse ITC. Stefan Mücke drove the Ford Mustang DTM to a second place, with Jean-Pierre Zimmer claiming his second consecutive podium of the weekend.

Westfalen Trophy 2022 Results

AvD Historic Race Cup Race 1

  1. Stephane Lechine, Dallara F389/VW-Spiess
  2. Marvin Brandl, Opel Lotus Mk.II,  + 5.467
  3. David Schneider, Opel Lotus Mk. II, + 19.014

AvD Historic Race Cup Race 2

  1. Jochen Tissen, Opel Lotus Mk. II
  2. Pascal Monbaron, Van Diemen RF00, + 2.243
  3. Philip Menzner, Reynard SF86, + 15.422

Belcar Historic Cup Race 1

  1. Erik Bruynoghe, Porsche 964
  2. Luc Moortgat, Porsche 964, + 4.800
  3. Jan van Elderen, Ford Sierra RS500 Cosworth, + 25.538

Belcar Historic Cup Race 2

  1. Luc Moortgat, Porsche 964
  2. Jan van Elderen, Ford Sierra RS500 Cosworth, + 9.274
  3. Evertjan Alders, BMW E30 325i, + 19.049

Porsche Club Historic Challenge Race 1

  1. Heinz-Bert Wolters, Porsche 997 GT3-R
  2. Thomas Lindemann, Porsche 997 GT3-R, + 26.813
  3. Peter Mamerow, Porsche 911 GT3-R, + 41.617

Porsche Club Historic Challenge Race 2

  1. Peter Mamerow, Porsche 911 GT3-R
  2. Marvin Meister, Porsche 997 GT3 Cup, + 15.070
  3. Thomas Lindemann, Porsche 997 GT3-R, + 18.751

Tourenwagen Classic Race 1

  1. Christoph Peper, BMW M3 E46
  2. Mark Trompeter, Porsche 997 Cup, + 4.948
  3. Christoph Driescher, BMW M3 E90, + 13.109

Tourenwagen Classic Race 2

  1. Anton Werner, Porsche 911 GT3 Cup
  2. Mark Trompeterm Porsche 997 Cup, + 1.146
  3. Christoph Peper, BMW M3 E46, + 6.989

Tourenwagen Legenden Race 1

  1. Thorsten Stadler, AMG Mercedes C-Klasse ITC
  2. Roland Asch, Mercedes 190 E 2.5-16 Evo 1, + 44.622
  3. Jean-Pierre Zimmer, Mercedes 190 E 2.5-16 Evo 1, + 48.874

Tourenwagen Legenden Race 2

  1. Sebastian Asch, AMG Mercedes C-Klasse ITC
  2. Stefan Mücke, Ford Mustang DTM, + 48.273
  3. Jean-Pierre Zimmer, Mercedes 190 E 2.5-16 Evo 1, + 2:11.205

Don't miss out! Our best stories, direct to your inbox!

[dfp name="home_tile11_300x250"]

Sign up now - it's free, weekly, and spam-free.